From the dusty notebook #3: Alone but not lonely

I wrote this when I was 18, on the day my ex-boyfriend and I broke up after being together for three years. Of all the things I’ve written so far, this is one of the few I pat myself in the back for. It’s not because the writing style is excellent because it’s not. I’m proud of this mostly because I was able to feel this way and have these thoughts after having my heart broken.

Sometimes, having someone makes you forget how you were completely fine when it was just you. In reality though, the most important thing that we need to always remember is our capability to be content and happy on our own.

Maybe that’s why even the strongest relationships fall apart, because their focus is entirely on how good a couple they should be instead of how good a person they could be.

Make no mistake. We will always have someone, whether he be family, a friend, a lover or a stranger. I am a person who believes that there will never come a time when we will be truly alone. But that doesn’t mean the one we have at this exact moment will be the same person standing next to us ten years from now.

As painful as it may be, losing someone helps us in ways that would take a long time to fully understand. We have to accept the fact that it is better to lose someone than to lose ourselves completely. Letting go is the hardest decision we will ever have to do in our lives. But although the hardest, it is what we’ll be the most proud of ourselves for.

The people we have now come and go. We, on the other hand, are stuck with ourselves and what we become from now until the end of our lives.

3 thoughts on “From the dusty notebook #3: Alone but not lonely

  1. dianadrengere December 14, 2012 / 1:11 am

    Hi,
    I have enjoyed your posts and looking forward to see something new in future…

    Thank you. 🙂

    • Kathryn G December 14, 2012 / 8:31 am

      Thank you so much! Your photos are amazing, btw. 🙂

      • dianadrengere December 14, 2012 / 11:15 am

        Thank you, I am glad you like them.
        I am just starting my Degree, so I might get better. 🙂 hah 😀

Leave a Reply

