The 7 things I said I’d never do…but eventually did. PART 1

Image

1. Wear skinny jeans.

I told myself I’d never wear skinny jeans back when the whole trend started. I took one look at them and immediately thought those pants are going to cut off my circulation. They looked extremely uncomfortable and just much too tight. But then one day, all my pants were in the washing machine and I was in a hurry to get to school so I decided to wear my twin sister’s skinny jeans. I realized they weren’t so bad and that there are ones that are really comfy. There are still a lot of evil skinny jeans out there that, I swear to you, can shrink your legs just by simply wearing them. I guess it’s just a matter of looking for the right pair of skinnies.

I will draw the line, however, at destroyed/ripped/torn skinny jeans, or any other kind of jeans for that matter. Now that I think about it, I’m also throwing in printed jeans. There are some ripped jeans that look good but I honestly don’t understand why one would put holes and tears in their jeans in the first place. I’m not saying I hate it, I just don’t get it. And I can’t wear printed jeans without laughing at myself to save my life. It just doesn’t work on me and I can so definitely live with that.

Image

2. Drink beer.

When I was in high school and almost everyone I knew started drinking, I said I would never “succumb to peer pressure” because of a couple of reasons. One, my parents would kill me if they found out (they’re that kind of parents). Two, I thought it was cool to not be doing what everyone else was doing. Three, I took a whiff of beer and decided it’d probably taste bad anyway.

Then I went to the beach this past summer with my best friend, my brother and his friends. My best friend and my brother told me it was the perfect time for me to try beer because they would be there to make sure I wouldn’t do anything stupid (they immediately assumed I’d get drunk). I figured I’d try it, at least then I was with people I trusted.

I drank my first bottle of beer that night and I think it’s safe to say that it’s also my last. Why? Because of reason number three. I hated the taste.

Image

3. Patronize Apple.

I was a loyal Nokia customer before. And I observed that a lot of people who were holding/flaunting their iPods and such were the same ones who were wearing sunglasses inside the mall or classroom (where there is no sun), were carrying ginormous Prada/Gucci/etc. bags in school and were failing miserably at being nice to employees. I know, I just judged a lot of books by their covers. Side comment: I actually do sometimes judge a (literal) book by its cover.

Anyway, I was all Apple is for the rich and snotty for a few years… until I officially became a hypocrite when I bought an iPhone 4.

6 thoughts on “The 7 things I said I’d never do…but eventually did. PART 1

  1. karenyvonne November 9, 2012 / 2:27 am

    This is Hilarious… but so true. I thought i would never wear make up… and i did..lol thanks for your post

    • Kathryn G November 9, 2012 / 2:49 am

      Wearing make up is actually my #4! Lol. Thank you for your comment 🙂

  2. caroline1t November 9, 2012 / 3:03 am

    Ahhh, I failed all of those too, welcome to the club…

    • Kathryn G November 9, 2012 / 3:22 am

      Oooh, I like this club! Glad I’m not the only one.

  3. Geoff November 9, 2012 / 5:10 am

    Beer grows on you if you give it time and I would definitely say we all regret being pulled into the black hole that is Apple products. There is no escape that I have found from the iPhone once you’ve taken the plunge ha. I like the concept of this piece a lot. Creative.

    • Kathryn G November 9, 2012 / 5:29 am

      Possibly, but I’m pretty sure it won’t be growing on me any time soon. And yes, I completely agree with Apple products being the black hole of financial doom, which is why I’m not saying that I will never upgrade to another Apple product. I definitely won’t be ditching my iPhone 4 for an iPhone 5 but who knows what other technological witchcraft Apple has in store for the iPhone 6 to infinity.

      And thank you for the compliment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

