The 7 things I said I’d never do…but eventually did. PART 2.

Image

4. Wear make up.

I was never the girlish feminine type. I watched the WWF, played Counter-strike and always tied my hair in a ponytail. Side comment: Why is it that they always associate femininity with wearing the hair down? Anyway, you can probably guess why, at one point in my life, I used words like dreadful, abominable and just downright gross to describe cosmetics.

Also, as I was growing older, the genes I got from my father really began to show when pimples started popping up on my face and I had a lot of people telling me to cover them up with foundation or concealer or whatever. I got really annoyed by it because, okay, I wasn’t flaunting my acne-ful face but I wasn’t embarrassed by it either and people telling me to cover it up is basically telling me that I should be – which, if you know my personality, makes me refuse to do it all the more.

But alas, I reached an age (19 years old, to be exact) when I learned from experience that no matter how many goodhearted people and inspirational quotes say that looks don’t matter, it actually does when you want to make a good impression, say, in a job interview or in a formal debate. And, to be honest, when you’re constantly surrounded by people with beautiful skin, you can’t help but try to not stand out in all your acne-ness. Huh, that insecurity took quite a while to settle in. Oh well, better late than too early.

So yes, make up. Not every day, only on days when I want to feel extra pretty. I say extra because I’m already pretty. I’m not gloating, I’m just not that insecure.

Image

5. Join Twitter.

I initially thought Twitter was for people who were: a. famous, b. conceited and c. both (like typical celebrities… just kidding… but not really). So I was all I’m too humble for Twitter. 

Then Kanye West decided to interrupt Taylor Swift’s acceptance speech at the 2009 MTV Video Music Awards. I don’t like Kanye West, and I don’t like Taylor Swift. But I heard a lot of celebrities and artists were criticizing him on Twitter and the Curious George in me just had to look at the tweets.

I created a Twitter account a few days after.

I have no problem admitting I shoved my foot in my mouth with regards to my initial thoughts about Twitter. It is still a network with famous and conceited people but it’s also a good place to keep in touch with old friends and, of course, to rant and explode and say stupid but therapeutic things.

Image

Image

6. Become addicted to really addictive yet annoying mainstream songs.

I may have been able to weather Justin Bieber’s Baby, One Direction’s What Makes You Beautiful or the infamous Friday by Rebecca Black, but when it comes to Carly Rae Jepsen’s Call Me Maybe and Psy’s Oppa Gangnam Style, I am guilty.

I hate it but secretly (I rather prefer unconsciously) love it.

Image

7. Watch Twilight.

I read the series and cringed. When I heard there was going to be a film adaptation, I cringed and, you guessed it, told myself I will never watch it.

But curiosity kills and in this situation, it does so by a.) making you pay to watch horrible horrible movies and b.) forcing you to sit through the whole bloody thing because you paid for it.

I gotta say, out of the 7 things on this list, this is the only one I truly regret doing (mostly because of the money I spent).

I’m proud to say, though, that when I said I will never watch the film adaptation of the rest of the books in the series, I really never did… not yet anyway. Curious George the Hypocrite in me just might show up again on November 16, 2012. Dun-dun-duuuuun! …Just kidding.

SO, these are the seven things I said I’d never ever do but eventually did.

What are yours? Do you have similar ones? I’d like to know! Let us all share a moment of admitting to others and ourselves that, at one point (okay, at many points) in our life, we successfully shoved our foot in our mouth, and that we are all, in one small way or another, hypocrites – honest hypocrites. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The 7 things I said I’d never do…but eventually did. PART 2.

  1. caroline1t November 10, 2012 / 5:22 am

    Totally had to come back to see the next part of the series…so you’re on your own for Makeup (I love it), Twitter (so much fun!), way ahead of me with Twilight (still holding out), and we’re even on totally annoying mainsteam songs.

    • Kathryn G November 10, 2012 / 1:43 pm

      I don’t tweet all that much but it does come in handy when I’m having a really bad day and just want to scream at the world. Lol. I applaud you for holding out on Twilight! And we can’t just help ourselves when it comes to annoying mainstream songs. It’s not our fault we hear it everywhere we go until it gets stuck in our head. I’m totally making excuses for myself.

  2. supashmo November 14, 2012 / 7:00 pm

    Ugh, my wife and I rented Twilight just to have a good laugh. We did not.

    • Kathryn G November 15, 2012 / 6:23 am

      I was thinking the same thing when I decided to watch it. I will not make the same mistake again.

Leave a Reply

