When a song makes me fall in love with life even more

I have these moments in my life when nothing is happening. Nothing wonderful or special, nothing painful or depressing. It’s not the numb or apathetic kind of nothing. Just the ordinary nothing kind of nothing.

You know, when you’re lying in bed and you realize there’s nothing in your life at the moment to think or write about. Nothing interesting to you, much less to others. Or, when you’ve already refreshed your Twitter a thousand times or scrolled through your Facebook timeline til you’ve reached posts from the year 2008 and you still keep doing it over and over again because, really, there’s nothing else you feel like doing?

I have a lot of those. I don’t hate them, nor do I suddenly feel depressed or “incomplete.” I just look at those moments straight in the eye, shrug, and wait for them to pass me by.

Sometimes though, something absolutely invigorating happens – as was the case moments ago.

Music, people. Music happens.

I honestly believe that music – the lyrics, the melody, everything – is even more magical than magic itself.

That moment when you come across a new song or a song you haven’t listened to in ages that just refreshes you, that makes you fall in love with life even more, if not all over again? Precious.

So here I am, with a goofy smile on my goofy face, typing this while singing my happy heart out and hoping no one will get pissed at me for doing so… although I probably won’t care if someone does get pissed.

I’m not entirely sure if you would actually want to know the songs that inspired me to write this. But here they are anyway:

Stubborn Love by The Lumineers – What I love most about good music is beautiful lyrics. “It’s better to feel pain, than nothing at all. The opposite of love’s indifference.” And everything else about this song is just as beautiful.

Miss Me by Andy Grammer – No, this isn’t because of some personal experience. I just love the idea of telling that to someone who treated you like dirt. “As long as you live, you’re gonna miss me.” Damn right, you are.

Ships in the Night by Mat Kearney – I know, a rather sad song and a happy heart don’t go hand in hand but I can’t help it. Mat Kearney is one of my favorite artists and this song is a big reason why. “We’re just fumbling through the grey, trying to find a heart that’s not walking away.”

Offbeat by Clara C – If that last one is sad, this one is the exact opposite. Even if I’m very much single, this song and its music video make me happy happy happy.

Living in the Moment by Jason Mraz – And basically the rest of his songs on his album Love is a Four Letter Word. Mr. Jason Mraz, you are a cup of hot chocolate on a cold winter’s day. Just, thank you.

There we go. Five beautiful songs, albeit entirely different from one another, on repeat to keep my happy lonesome happy. 🙂

12 thoughts on “When a song makes me fall in love with life even more

  1. lilylaura December 14, 2012 / 1:31 am

    hey again 🙂 i just have to say that you have now a new follower. i am truly in love with your blog right know. its not just appealing and perceptive, but also _the way_ you write! you write good 🙂 and it is almost scary how equal our minds is. i can say that i have thought of beginning writing fiction as well.. and you have inspired me to do so. thank you for sharing such wonderful posts! you really inspire me and making me feel that i am not alone, such as i also have a lot of free time, haha 🙂

    • Kathryn G December 14, 2012 / 8:26 am

      Thank you so much. You have no idea how fattening your words are to my heart. Really. I’ve never heard such kind words from someone I’ve never met. And, from checking out your blog, I’m glad you’ve started writing. It’s such a wonderful and healthy way to let everything out. Thank you again! 🙂

  2. rossmurray1 December 14, 2012 / 3:32 am

    Music is the one constant in my life. I’m 47 and have heard a lot but I think we are living in a golden age of musical availability. I can still get excited by something new. I remember a few years ago hearing Frank Turner’s “God Save the Queen” and thinking, “Who is that?” Check him out if you don’t know him. He will fit what you’re talking about. Cheers.

    • Kathryn G December 14, 2012 / 8:28 am

      I searched him on YouTube and found a song called “Long Live the Queen.” I think that’s what you were referring to? Anyway, I LIKE IT! Thank you for the recommendation!

      • rossmurray1 December 14, 2012 / 8:18 pm

        Yes, “Long Live…” Not the Sex Pistols, which is a whole other musical feeling!

      • Kathryn G December 15, 2012 / 1:38 am

        Definitely a whole other musical feeling.

  3. silvanthato December 14, 2012 / 6:22 am

    I can relate to your post and I get frustrated because I’d rather be feeling/experiencing something rather than just being…nothing.
    A great selection of songs too you have here!

    • Kathryn G December 14, 2012 / 8:29 am

      I get frustrated sometimes too. But think of it this way, feeling nothing opens the way to so many possible somethings. Glad you like the songs!

  4. Canadian girl December 15, 2012 / 5:45 am

    I stumbled into your blog and it made me want to come in and stay a while. I love when that happens, so, thank you. You have a very welcoming style to your writing. I really enjoyed it.

    • Kathryn G December 15, 2012 / 9:02 am

      Thank you so much. That’s awfully nice of you to say.

Leave a Reply

