God has a sense of humor

I’m telling you, He does!

I’ve previously mentioned how I usually pray in the bathroom but you should also know that, after praying, I turn on the music on my iPhone and occasionally (okay, regularly) sing and dance to the music. Yes, I am a proud singer and dancer in the shower. It’s better than falling asleep in the shower because, trust me, I’ve done that and it’s no fun especially when you’re late for class because of it. But that’s not the main point of this post.

God. Yes.

Okay, so earlier, I was doing my usual thing. I went to the bathroom, prayed and then played songs from my phone’s music player which was on shuffle mode. I was in the shower already when Bruno Mars’ Lazy Song came on. And yeah, I sang along until it got to the chorus, that is. I realized what the words in the second verse were and I thought to God, “I probably shouldn’t be singing this now, huh? Or ever.” I mean, not ten minutes ago, I was talking Him and now I’m listening to a song that, well, God won’t really approve of. But I was in the shower already so I couldn’t change it anymore.

Cue second verse. “Tomorrow I’ll wake up, do some P90X. Meet a really nice girl, have some really nice…” Ding! 

At that exact moment, someone sent me a tweet and my phone rang. I have to tell you, too, that the tweet really was something nice. Come on. How cool is that?!

Okay, so it wasn’t even a bad word but the connotation kind of was. I’m not saying sex is bad. But the way it was used is.

Basically, I think God agreed with me when I thought it inappropriate to be singing such lyrics so He chose to make His thoughts known. I know, it’s a small thing but small things are good. A lot of small things, when put together, become something great. I just love it when He uses the simplest and most interesting ways to remind me He hears me.

God, You, Sir, are one very witty, well, God.

5 thoughts on “God has a sense of humor

  1. supashmo December 17, 2012 / 8:00 pm

    It’s always fun to notice those moments.

  2. Annie Tjia December 22, 2012 / 2:29 pm

    Oh! I had something similar like this happened several times. I once had thought badly about my mother, when my toe got stubbed and it was veeeerrryyy huuurrrttt that I couldn’t even utter a single word to express me. Out of nowhere, my mom came from kitchen and said, “You must be having some bad things in your mind to be careless like that.”

    How weird!

  3. jocelynnf January 3, 2013 / 5:28 am

    Funny. I recently thought the same thing about that very song. Love your blog! As another fellow Christian girl I feel I can relate to just about every post. Keep doing what you do.

    • Kathryn G January 3, 2013 / 5:57 am

      Thank you! I just checked yours out and found out we’re about the same age. I like that! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

