The 7 non-Christmas things I did/do on Christmas

Growing up, I never really did celebrate Christmas the way everyone else did. My grandparents didn’t want us to value Christmas because of the tree, Santa Claus, or the gifts. I remember, instead of giving my siblings and I presents, they would call us to their room and tell us the story of the birth of Jesus Christ and why we don’t celebrate Christmas the usual and, honestly, the more enjoyable way. We’d play Christmas songs but that’s about it. No Christmas decorations, tree or presents.

I used to feel bad about it when I was still a kid. Now, though, it doesn’t bother me anymore. I actually like it this way. I do give Christmas presents to my friends and to my siblings and I do greet the people who greet me, but my kind of Christmas stops there. How I enjoy my December 25th isn’t based on the number of gifts I receive because I don’t expect to actually get any. It isn’t based on whether or not my friends or anyone else greet me because I don’t expect that either.

I do, however, use my December 25th to do other things that may or may not be considered Christmas material. Some are tradition, some clearly aren’t. Here they are:

Image

1. Visit the cemetery.

I know, I know. This is a November 1 kind of thing but visiting the cemetery on Christmas day is actually pretty fun. Also, I’d like to mention that the cemetery I go to doesn’t look as depressing as the one in the photo.

This became an annual tradition since my grandmother from my mom’s side passed away a couple of years ago. My grandfather, whose birthday’s on the 25th, had already passed years before that so we decided to spend Christmas day with the both of them. We’d even gather around their resting place and sing happy birthday. REALLY, it’s fun.

Image

2. Clean my room.

Yes, while everyone else was busy opening presents and, in the process, making a mess in their room, I was cleaning mine up. And I’m so glad I did. I now have a tidy bedside table, a bed without anything but a pillow and blanket on it and, finally, a desk with enough space for me to write on.

Image

3. Read a really sad book.

Well, okay, it’s not like I made the decision to read a sad book during the Christmas season. It’s just that all my favorite books are sad ones and that I make it a point to read at least one of my favorite books each year. And since I’m busy reading new ones throughout the year, I only remember my annual tradition when the year’s about to end which happens to be December.

For this year, I’m reading John Green’s Looking for Alaska. Yes, I don’t really know why I do this to myself.

Image

4. Do school work.

This is one thing I would’ve been glad not to do, but an eager-to-graduate senior’s got to do what an eager-to-graduate senior’s got to do.

Image

5. Break my earphones.

I broke my earphones. WHY.

Image

6. Scoop my dog’s poop.

I know this sounds like something that happens every day but it’s not. My dog, Sumo, never does his business in my room. He’s been potty-trained for quite some time now so imagine my surprise when I found dog poop in my room, and quite a lot of it actually since he had a heavy meal. And I know it’s his since the other two weren’t in the room the time. I guess it’s his way of making my Christmas day extra special and extra extra smelly.

Image

7. NOT eat Christmas fruitcake, or Christmas ham, or Christmas cookies.

I know it might sound crazy but I don’t eat fruitcake. I like fruits. I like cakes. But I don’t like putting the two together. I like ham and cookies but there weren’t any so none of that for me too.

I ate spam, though, which rhymes with ham so I guess that’s pretty close.

Happy holidays, everyone! 

11 thoughts on “The 7 non-Christmas things I did/do on Christmas

  1. supashmo December 26, 2012 / 5:18 pm

    I can sympathize with 2 and 7. Yesterday, Christmas, I cleaned up the house and washed dishes by hand. As for 7, fruitcake is horrible. Too bad you didn’t get cookies, though. Want ours? We have THOUSANDS.

    • Kathryn G December 27, 2012 / 1:00 am

      I’m glad I’m not the only one with a strong dislike for fruitcake. But thousands of cookies? Now that’s something I will definitely enjoy.

  2. alwaysbobswife December 27, 2012 / 12:13 am

    hi kathryn, my kids (my older one may be as old as you are) read the same book. wanting so much to bridge the “gap”, i tried “looking for Alaska” myself, but didn’t manage to pursue, until they told me the whole story complete with their personal takes on the metaphors of the book title; thus, losing my interest altogether. but, i guess, i’ll give the book another chance … rather, myself then 😉

    keep scribbling away … you have an avid reader here! happy NEW YEAR to you … and may the good Lord bless you more. — APRIL

    • Kathryn G December 27, 2012 / 1:11 am

      Hi, April. Looking for Alaska, to me ,is very bittersweet. It’s quite different from most young adult books and, to be honest, there are some aspects in the story that I don’t really agree on or approve of. That’s really how it is sometimes when reading fiction. But a couple of things I love about books are the characters, metaphors and just really good quotes and this book has all three!

      And thank you so much. That’s very flattering. Happy holidays to you and your family! God bless you too.

  3. caroline1t December 28, 2012 / 3:07 am

    You are pretty hilarious! I never did a whole lot growing up either. We only ever got one present each but I do have to say that I like having a pretty and sparkly tree! This year my husband and I started a new Dec. 25th tradition: it’s now movie day!

    • Kathryn G December 28, 2012 / 2:43 pm

      Oh, I like that! So what movies did you watch?

  4. Anna Margaret Grayson December 28, 2012 / 6:36 pm

    I did much of the same on Christmas. In addition to your seven items I watched my husband watch football – or was it basketball? We had a good time! I wonder what Christmas is going to look like if and when we decide to have children. While for now, winter holidays are great for me because I can spend some time on the couch as opposed to at work, I admit that the more traditional type of Christmas was great for me as a kid.

    Happy New Year to you!

    • Kathryn G December 29, 2012 / 2:23 am

      You broke your earphones too? I hope not. They’re pretty expensive, in my opinion. But it’s good you had a wonderful Christmas! And yes, the couch is a more ideal place to spend the holidays than the office.

      Happy New Year to you too!

  5. jppalacios12 December 28, 2012 / 7:49 pm

    I read Looking For Alaska not too long ago (in September, early October, I think), and I loved it. John Green, who I knew of before because of his Crash Course World History videos on Youtube, turned out to be one of my favorite authors. I think it’s awesome you like that book. I don’t know why I’m commenting, and where this comment is going, so….
    Oh, Happy Holidays, Happy New Year, all that jazz…

    • Kathryn G December 29, 2012 / 2:28 am

      I love how John Green writes. And if you do too, you should check out Markus Zusak. I like Looking for Alaska too, but I’d have to say my favorite John Green book is The Fault in Our Stars.

      And it’s alright, I like comments with no direction better than with One Direction. Ha! See what I did there? I’m sorry. Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

