I want to fall in love

Not with a guy.

But with a place.
I want to go somewhere I’ve never been to before and fall completely head over heels with everything about it. I want to see the world. I want to indulge in the wanderlust. I want to go to a place that is so different from what I see every day and get lost in the sights and culture.

And with a profession.
I want to choose the profession that I love, that ignites a fire in me, that inspires me to be better. I want to work without me feeling like it’s work. I want to go to work feeling like I’m going to my second home.

And most definitely with life.
I’m already in love with life. But I want to fall even more in love with it and everything it has to offer. I want to never forget that life is beautiful, even with its ugly moments.Β 

16 thoughts on “I want to fall in love

  1. Gen January 2, 2013 / 3:12 pm

    I love your list!

    I don’t think I could ever be in love with a place, I am not really observant enough, and I’m happiest when I am at home… Or I could just say that I am in love with my home. πŸ™‚

    As for the profession, let me just say that I am not head-over-heels in love, but the love is in there. Just needs a little more something.

    And for being in love with life, that’s what I want. Like you, I am already in love with life, but sometimes I still take it for granted. I want to appreciate life more and just savor everything as much as I can.

    • Kathryn G January 3, 2013 / 6:02 am

      I’m definitely in love with home too, but I also dream of seeing the world.

      I’m glad you found a profession that you, at the least, like. I’ve come to realize how very few people are like that.

      Appreciation for life – yes. Here’s to a more appreciative outlook on life!

  2. supashmo January 2, 2013 / 4:25 pm

    I’m with you in all of those. I don’t want to fall in love with a guy, either πŸ˜€

  3. kmcmanny January 2, 2013 / 4:50 pm

    I want that too! At 51 I’m still looking.

    • Kathryn G January 3, 2013 / 2:56 am

      It’s never too late to fall in love, especially with life. I hope and pray you’ll be able to experience that. We all deserve it.

  4. Christina Waschko January 2, 2013 / 4:55 pm

    I can totally relate to this longing. Fortunately, by now, I am in love with everything you long for, with one exception: – one of my biggest love is a guy . Or to be more precise, FOUR!

  5. charlidholbrook January 2, 2013 / 5:06 pm

    exactly how I feel. thanks so much for sharing.

    xoC

  6. Mnemosyne January 2, 2013 / 5:27 pm

    In love with a place, my biggest obsession, because I’m so limited to where I can go I constantly long to go somewhere I’ve never been. Years ago I had the opportunity to visit France and parts of Switzerland, it was amazing! I’ve never felt so overwhelmed and it gave me that itch to want to see more. Do more. Try more.
    I’ve already fallen in love. More than once. I do love the feeling that comes with it, but having similar emotions for things that have no human relation is what needs to be fulfilled in order to feel full and like you’ve just accomplished the climb of Mount. Everest.
    Happy new year πŸ™‚

    • Kathryn G January 3, 2013 / 2:53 am

      You’re so lucky to have visited France and Switzerland. I hope I’ll be able to go there someday. It’s amazing how some places are just completely different from what we’re used to seeing every day.
      And I totally agree with that last sentence. Happy New year!

      • Mnemosyne January 3, 2013 / 2:03 pm

        I would go back in a heartbeat. Some days I’ve dreamed of just completely uprooting myself, becoming a nomad and making my way there. Although I know it’s unrealistic and a terrible way to run away, but sometimes those fantasies are what get you through the day.

  7. caroline1t January 2, 2013 / 11:38 pm

    I love this. I’ve never really put it into words but I feel exactly the same!

    • Kathryn G January 3, 2013 / 2:43 am

      Hoping we’ll achieve these this year!

  8. littlemscurious January 4, 2013 / 1:31 am

    I’m lucky enough to be already in love with a couple of places but most of all with one in particular.
    I can only recommend travelling, even if it’s just a daytrip to a nearby city you have never been to or to some other place that is not faraway but where you’ve never had the chance to go to. Sometimes the greatest treasures are right in front of us.

    As for the other two, I’m definitely in love with my studies and I hope I’ll find a job that I love after I’m finished with my masters degree in September. Fingers crossed.

    And I guess loving life is not something I have to learn but I have to remind myself to cherish life more, be grateful and happy instead of miserable and grumpy. There is so much out there that we can be thankful for but instead of appreciating what we have, we tend to be miserable about what we don’t have…The hardest lesson to learn that is, when we lose somebody that we love…But again, we should remember the good times and not get lost in the bad..

    Thanks for your post, I really like your style of writing. It’s very simple yet so gripping and mesmerising. I love it. πŸ™‚

    Steph

    • Kathryn G January 14, 2013 / 12:27 pm

      What’s that one particular place you love most of all? And a thousand times yes on the greatest treasures being right in front of us.

      I’ve visited your blog a couple of times. I find your major really interesting! That’s some pretty cool stuff.

      Thankfully, I haven’t lost somebody who’s really close to me yet but I am aware that something like that is bound to happen someday, which, honestly, scares me. But yes, be grateful for the good times, let go of the bad ones.

      Thank you for your kind words! It means a lot.

      Kathryn

      • littlemscurious January 14, 2013 / 12:37 pm

        I have fallen in love with London a couple of years ago and after having lived there for a while this love has grown even more. Of course there are various places all over the city that I love in particular due to the memories connected with them, but the city is overall the love of my life.

        Every time I go there, I just feel more at home, than anywhere else in the world and I love that feeling, although it also makes me “homesick” quite a few times… But, nevertheless, I am grateful for feeling so connected to a place…It does help sometimes in this big, crowded, fast world we live in.

        Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I am still relatively new in the “blogosphere” but I love writing and reading and literature, so I thought I could combine that in form of writing a blog.

        Have a great day,
        Steph

Leave a Reply

