I’ve fallen in love with words on film: Third Star (2010)

tumblr_m1zqlbhk3R1qbxkd2o1_500I only found out about this film early last year when I finished watching Sherlock and got so hooked on anything Benedict Cumberbatch so I downloaded a couple of movies he starred in. This film has been in my laptop for months now. I finally got to watch it earlier today and I’m so happy I did. This isn’t a happy movie, though. To be honest, it’s actually quite depressing and, in a moral sense, disturbing.

Most people… normal people, when they see the phrase ‘terminally ill with cancer,’ would start preparing themselves for a sad ending. I am not one of those people. I don’t know why I still bother to hope for a miraculous twist for stories like this but I do; I always do.

Nonetheless, I still think this film is brilliant. I love how these characters, these friends, seem to know so much and, at the same time, so little about each other. I love how their conversation can be so serious in one moment then turn so hilarious in the next.

But most of all, I love the dialogue. One of my most favorite things in this world is reading/hearing beautiful quotes and this film has a few of them.

The sickness is mine. But the tragedy is theirs.

Miles had the pressure of expectation. I had the pressure of time, I suppose. Too much of it then. Too little of it now.

All of those daydreams have become fantasies rather than possibilities.

“Not him! He’s got cancer! I’m not shitting with you! … Don’t hit people with cancer.”

It’s not about the cards that life deals you, it’s about the hand that you feel safe playing.

If you have time, I highly recommend you watch the movie. It deals with life and death and friendship and morality and, you know what, it doesn’t really answer your questions about them but it makes you feel… something, for lack of a better word. It’s a something that, I feel, is only felt after watching a beautiful story. And this, dear friends, is a beautiful story.

3 thoughts on “I’ve fallen in love with words on film: Third Star (2010)

  1. caroline1t January 27, 2013 / 4:06 am

    Great tip. Loved Sherlock too!

  2. Cindy March 28, 2015 / 9:59 am

    The part where BC asks Miles why he fell for his sister and Miles replies “you know why”…..why? That’s one part I don’t really get.

    • Kathryn G March 29, 2015 / 11:00 am

      Oh goodness, it’s literally been more than two years since I last watched this. I’m embarrassed to say I can’t recall this part of the film, so so sorry.

Leave a Reply

