What is your greatest dream?

I’m currently reading Augusto Cury’s The Dreamseller and now I find myself completely captivated by it. That’s saying a lot considering I’m not even halfway into the novel. There are stories that make you think about life, love, pain and relationships, and I’ve always enjoyed those. But then there are times, rare ones, when you come across a story that makes you think about your life, your love, your pain and your relationships. The Dreamseller, to me, is like that.

Fifty pages into the book, the question, “What is your greatest dream?” is asked, quite a number of times actually. The first time I read it, I literally had to stop reading and put the book down because the question really struck me. It made me think about what my greatest dream is. And then it made me think about whether having to think about what my greatest dream is makes my answer untrue or insincere. I mean, if it is indeed my greatest dream, why would it take awhile for me to come up with it? Shouldn’t our greatest dream supposed to be ingrained in our mind, heart and soul? It’s like asking your dad who his greatest love is, and he takes a pause first before saying your mom’s name. Shouldn’t answering that question come naturally or automatically? After all, our greatest dream should be one of the driving forces in our life, right?

And just in case you’re wondering, I do have my greatest dream. It took me awhile to figure out what it is, but when I did, I realized how absolutely certain I was, and still am, with my answer.

What is your greatest dream?

I think most people find that question daunting, if not terrifying. One reason could be how the answer to that question can reveal everything about you, strip you bare, and people don’t like that. It’s kind of like being a senior in college and being constantly asked about what your plans are after graduation. Or being in a job interview and getting asked, “So how do you see yourself ten, fifteen years from now?” I’m sure we all have answers to those questions. When we get asked that, something or a lot of things automatically pop up in our heads. But we still have that moment of hesitation anyway because we’re terrified of people knowing what we want, because what we want says a lot about the kind of person we are.

Mostly, though, I think it’s because a lot of us are afraid to admit, not just to others but to ourselves, what it is we’re really searching for in life. When it comes down to it, we’re torn between choosing to go after something great and near impossible and choosing to go after something that isn’t as great but attainable. We’re afraid of our dream being too small to even be considered a dream, or we’re afraid of our dream being too big and crazy that we wouldn’t know where to begin chasing it. Most of all, we’re afraid of our dream not being the dream we want for ourselves.

Dreams aren’t for practical people, I figure. Dreams aren’t for the starry-eyed either, not the real ones at least.

No, dreams are for honest people. The honest and brave. Why? Because to know our greatest dream is to know ourselves. And knowing who we are, the good, the bad and the ugly, is even more terrifying than answering what our plans are after graduation.

So now, I’m asking you. What is your greatest dream?

14 thoughts on “What is your greatest dream?

  1. words4jp February 12, 2013 / 6:14 pm

    i have had that question asked of me and i have stumbled – many, many times and i still do. if i figure it out, i will let you know;-)

    i enjoyed reading your words.

    • Kathryn G February 13, 2013 / 12:55 am

      I’m looking forward to it. Thank you!

  2. Sara February 12, 2013 / 6:35 pm

    Really nice post. I think my greatest dream, the one that encircles all the others, is to help other people live their lives better. I want to create things that improve the world for people, whether it be through something lofty like works of music or art, or simple stuff like talking to people about their problems and being nice. It’s very vague and broad and so it’s difficult make it happen. Also it seems that being a genuinely nice person totally goes against my base nature so it’s actually terribly difficult. I’m mostly indifferent, rude and selfish and I want to be the total opposite of that. I don’t think any of my smaller dreams will work without first fulfilling this big one. It doesn’t seem like much of a dream, but for me it is. Wow that was kind of therapeutic. Thanks for listening! I guess you can send me a bill for counseling fees now. 🙂

    • Kathryn G February 13, 2013 / 1:07 am

      I love it. Yours is something I haven’t heard so far from the people I’ve asked. Also, I think being a genuinely nice person goes against the nature of a lot of people, including me, so you’re definitely not alone on that. But the fact that your dream is to be an instrument in other people’s lives even if it kind of goes against your nature is pretty awesome, I must say. And it is therapeutic, huh? You have Augusto Cury to thank for that. The book is wonderful. You should read it if you have the time. Counseling fees are for psychologists and the like, I’m just a really really curious person. 🙂

      • Sara February 14, 2013 / 2:30 pm

        I’m going to have to read it now. It sounds like a good book.

  3. djdfr February 12, 2013 / 8:40 pm

    I think it is normal to stop and think before answering this kind of question. There may be a list of things I would enjoy accomplishing but my greatest desire is to happy, in that profound sense, happiness that can only be realized by becoming as our Creator intended, being good.

    • Kathryn G February 13, 2013 / 1:10 am

      Happiness in the profound sense, or joy, I think, is another term – that is something I pray for every day. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Read Stuff With Me! February 13, 2013 / 12:18 pm

    My dream. I would have said writing something legendary or doing greatly professionally. I would have even thought that my greatest dream is to work for the society, for children and women. However, I know my greatest dream lies in the simplest of things. My dream is to make people smile. I want to spread as many smiles as possible. I want to do everything I can to make a person just curl his/her lips and smile. I find an amazing sense of contentment when I make anybody do that. So, when I see little kids on the streets, begging or just sitting idle waiting for their parents to get them food, I love getting them an ice cream. I love the twinkle I see in their eyes. I feel ‘whole’ when my words or acts make a teary-eyed friend do nothing but beam.
    That’s my greatest dream Kathryn. Making this world smile, for as long as I live and even after that. Thanks for this post, its beautiful 🙂

    • Kathryn G February 17, 2013 / 2:31 pm

      It’s beautiful, your dream. And I’m sure it’s really fulfilling too. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

  5. LifeLover February 13, 2013 / 2:26 pm

    My greatest dream in 2013 is traveling to Canada and working/studying there for 3 months. For some person, it is just about the financial matter but for me, It is also the problem of visa.

    • Kathryn G February 17, 2013 / 2:33 pm

      Well, I’ve always believed that things happen for a reason. If things don’t go the way you planned it to, I’m sure it’s because there are better things for you. I hope everything works out for you though!

  6. The Girl in Long Shorts September 19, 2014 / 4:40 pm

    “The plain fact is that the planet does not need more successful people. But it does desperately need more peacemakers, healers, restorers, storytellers, and lovers of every kind. It needs people who live well in their places. It needs people of moral courage willing to join the fight to make the world habitable and humane. And these qualities have little to do with success as we have defined it.” – David Orr

    Have you read this quote? It’s from his book “Ecological Literacy: Education and the Transition to a Postmodern World” and I think it’s one of my favorite quotes ever. It also sums up my greatest dream. I am a writer and student midwife and my greatest ambition is to spend my life studying those two things – happiness and strength – as I define them. Writing and midwifery are both things that have the power to help people navigate incredibly important moments and to emerge stronger, smarter, broader and kinder than they were before. My biggest goal is to be a vessel for that power. I want to live a life I can put my hands on. I want to make the world a little nicer right where I stand. I guess that means my biggest goal is just to help.

    • Kathryn G September 20, 2014 / 4:17 am

      No, I haven’t, but it’s a beautiful quote. And you’ve given a beautiful answer. I’ve never met anyone who’s studying to become a midwife, but it sure sounds fulfilling. It’s rare to see someone who’s so passionate about helping others. I wish you all the best in your endeavors.

  7. Pingback: Curated

Leave a Reply

