I’ve fallen in love with words on film: Remember the Titans (2000)

Image

I’ve always loved sports films. To me, there are only two kinds of films that can truly capture and accurately show the heart and soul of man – sports films and war films. Personally, if I’d have to pick, I’d go with sports films only because the latter also shows man’s capacity for evil and it usually leaves me more devastated than inspired.

Remember the Titans has always been, in my opinion, the best sports film ever made. No matter how many times I watch it, I always get goosebumps. I’m aware that the movie isn’t entirely accurate and that it was sensationalized to some degree, but it doesn’t disprove the fact that the situations depicted in the film really did happen – just not exactly where and when they were shown.

I love the film because it’s inspirational and uplifting, and it gives you this sense of hope that even if man has this terrifying capability of being cruel and selfish, his capability of being kind, brave and selfless is much bigger. It shows that every man can be great and that a great man can be greater still.

And, of course, some good lines for that special effect:

Gerry Bertier: See, man, that’s the worst attitude I’ve ever heard.
Julius Campbell: Attitude reflects leadership… Captain.

Coach Boone: I don’t care if you like each other or not, but you will respect each other.

Julius Campbell: What’re you doin’, man?
Louie Lastik: Eating lunch.
Julius Campbell: I see you eating lunch, but why you eatin’ over here? Why not go eat over there and eat with your people?
Louie Lastik: Main, I don’t have any people. I’m with everybody, Julius.

Gerry Bertier: I was afraid of you, Julius. I only saw what I was afraid of. And now, I know I was only hating my brother.

Mrs. Boone: Sometimes, life is hard for no reason at all.

Coach Yoast: You’ve taught this city how to trust the soul of a man, rather than the look of him.

Sheryl Yoast: People say that it can’t work – black and white. Here, we make it work every day. We still have our disagreements, of course. But before we reach for hate, always, always, we remember the Titans.

If you haven’t watched this film yet, you really have to. It isn’t just about football. I think that, more than anything, the film teaches us how to overcome hate, how to go beyond our differences. We don’t have to love each other in order to get along, we don’t even need to like each other. Tolerance. And respect. That’s what we need to have.

2 thoughts on “I’ve fallen in love with words on film: Remember the Titans (2000)

  1. Joe Irwin November 24, 2013 / 5:07 am

    A better way to put it might be it is a great movie that is 95% fictionalized! I use to like it until I found out that very little is true!! Very, Very little.

    • Kathryn G November 25, 2013 / 1:19 pm

      Yeah, I was pretty bummed when I found out that the film wasn’t entirely accurate. But I don’t know, I watched it again afterward and I still loved it as much as I did the first time I saw it.

Leave a Reply

