No settling down for me any time soon then

One of the perks that come with my job is having free unlimited and unrestricted access to the Internet. And since work was really slow yesterday, I decided to take advantage of that. So I opened Google and typed “things every girl must do.” I was curious to find out what people think I should be doing that I haven’t done yet. One of the articles that appeared on the top of the page was Glamour Magazine’s 36 things every single girl must do before she settles down, and I thought hmm, that’s interesting. Not that I have plans to get committed real soon – I’m pretty sure I need a guy first to make that happen. I just wanted to know whether or not I had that option, just in case Ben Barnes suddenly knocks on my front door and proposes. I KNOW, I KNOW.

But fear not, Mom and Dad. According to this article, I still have a long way to go before I can settle down. You’d think the list would be full of deep, personal stuff like, I don’t know, meeting the guy’s family maybe? But I thought a lot of things on the list were unnecessary and a bit nonsense, to be honest. Or maybe I’m just bitter because that means no Ben Barnes for me. You be the judge.

  1.  Live alone, or at least move apartments in NYC without the help of family – I’m not ashamed to say that I’m 22 years old and I still live with my parents. Most people would say that young adults aren’t independent if they still live in their parents’ house and that they couldn’t really be considered adults because of it. For me, though, there’s another, more significant flipside to it. I don’t look at it as me still depending on my parents for everything, because I don’t; it’s more of me being with my parents to take care of them and my grandparents, since they’re also living with us. I mean, of course there are times when I love being alone but more than anything I love living with my family. And I’d have no problem if it stays that way until I have a family of my own.
  2. Train for (and finish) a huge physical test like a half-marathon – While I’m not an all-star athlete, I’m not completely terrible at physical challenges either. If there was a schoolyard pick, I’d probably get picked in the middle. I don’t train for marathons because I have no interest in joining any. But I did climb up 500  really steep steps to reach the top of a mountain when I was in Caramoan and I was able to do that without having exercised at all in the weeks prior. Because I was swimming and spelunking before that, my legs and knees were already buckling 50 steps into it. I’m not sure if that counts but it definitely was a physical test for me and I conquered that big baby.
  3. Quit your job – Well, I just started mine… so no, thank you.
  4. Fly to a foreign country by yourself – This one’s on my bucket list so I really am praying for this. Hopefully, my plan to travel throughout Europe in 2016 will push through.
  5. Get drunk during the day, just because you can – Yeah, I can. The only problem is I don’t want to.
  6. Go on a date with someone who actually makes you nervous – I think I prefer going on a date with someone who actually makes me feel comfortable. Plus, as some of you probably know by now, I’m excruciatingly awkward when I’m nervous so this is also for the guy’s sake as much as it is for mine.
  7. Go out with an older man who takes you somewhere nice and makes you feel like a million bucks – I’m sorry but when I read this, a rather unpleasant word came to my mind and it’s not a word I’d want to associate myself with.
  8. Chill with your widowed and single grandma – My 94-year-old grandfather is still very much alive and healthy, and I intend to keep it that way for a very long time.
  9. Attend a wedding alone – You mean without a date? Isn’t that pretty normal for any single girl?
  10. Date the creeps – I have to do that before I settle down? What if I date the really creepy kind of creep and not make it out alive to actually be able to settle down?
  11. Buy yourself some flowers – It’s not that I don’t like flowers. I just like looking at them more than I do receiving them. Flowers can be really expensive, and I’d rather use the money to buy a book or watch a movie.
  12. Invest in a LBD (little black dress) and some sexy stilettos – Stilettos kill my feet. It’s as simple as that. I salute all the women whose feet can bear such an ordeal.
  13. Buy something frivolous and expensive that you love wearing – I’m the kind of person who, when it comes to shopping for clothes and accessories, never buys anything frivolous and expensive. I think the most expensive article of clothing I bought is a pair of jeans worth $20.
  14. Make a list of all your faults – I never thought of doing this one, but this is kind of interesting. Maybe I’ll write about this and post it here for all of you to see. Yes, I think I’ll do that.
  15. Learn to cook well – I was about to cross this one off until I saw the word “well.”
  16. Let your married friends edit your online dating profile – Online dating profile? I think I’ll pass.

So I’m pretty sure Glamour Magazine would discourage me from settling down in the near future. They probably think I shouldn’t get settle down at all if these are their prerequisites.

Thankfully, I have my own prerequisites to follow which, if I’m settling down with the right guy, are really easy to abide by.

  1. Get my parents’ approval.
  2. Get his parents’ approval.
  3. Get my siblings’ approval.
  4. Get his siblings’ approval.
  5. Get God’s approval.

Yeah, I think if I’m able to get these five things, everything else will work out splendidly.

What are yours?

9 thoughts on “No settling down for me any time soon then

    • Kathryn G May 5, 2013 / 4:21 pm

      That’s seriously one of the best compliments I’ve ever received. Thank you, thank you.

  1. supashmo May 4, 2013 / 12:54 pm

    The silly thing about a lot of such lists is that it acts like you can’t do any of those things once you are married, like fly to a foreign country, quit your job, or get drunk during the day. I think it perpetuates the idea that singledom is one awesome party and marriage is the prison cell expected of all of us.

    • Kathryn G May 5, 2013 / 8:20 am

      Exactly. I think such lists forget the fact that there is such a thing as a good marriage. You just have to marry the right person.

  2. carmencomments May 4, 2013 / 2:51 pm

    And what is even attractive about getting drunk during the day??

    • Kathryn G May 5, 2013 / 8:09 am

      I don’t think getting drunk at any time of the day is attractive, to be honest.

  3. djdfr May 5, 2013 / 8:50 am

    It depends on what kind of world you want to create, what kind of person you are aiming to be. Much on their list has no relation to me or my goals. About the only one I relate to is buying flowers, but it would be a plant for the garden.

  4. Black ' n Write Reviewer May 6, 2013 / 2:10 pm

    I think some people forgot the part that this list is from Glamour Magazine… It’s the epitome of what women wind up reading and than look in the mirror and realize they’re not doing something right. (that and Cosmo who is right up there on the low self-esteem level and “how-to-have-sex-in-102-positions-and-we’ll-repeat-that-article-for-you-in-6-months”).
    I think the interesting part about some of these lists is that some things can actually be Bucket list items, and even if I may not feel like dating an older man just to get my $1200 steak at least I can say I travelled from Canada and across Europe by myself have all the pictures and postcards to prove it.

  5. raghul96 May 12, 2013 / 5:13 pm

    I like how the only one you really considered doing is 14-Make a list of all your faults IMO, it says a lot.
    Plus I agree with ^^^ (B&W Reviewer), these sorts of magazines are not worth paying attention to.
    Make your life what you want it to be, not what shallow magazines say it should be. Carpe diem.

Leave a Reply

