Thoughts from a New Orleans-themed restaurant

Written earlier today, when I didn’t have my laptop with me so I had to wait ’til I got home to actually post this… 

At this very moment, the sun is disappearing underneath the pale blue clouds. And the sight of it makes me want to write something. Anything. So here I am.

I’m in a New Orleans-themed restaurant, trying to finish the smoked salmon pizza that I ordered. I know I won’t be able to. I have five slices left and my stomach already feels like it’s about to explode. This happens a lot when I eat out alone. I always order more food than I can finish. I think I do this on purpose because I love eating leftovers at home. I’m in no hurry to leave this place. It’s been months since I was last able to go out by myself so I’m taking my time.

And while I do, I want to tell you what’s it like. Being here. In a New Orleans-themed restaurant. With a plate of five slices of smoked salmon pizza in front of me, waiting to be taken home.

There are four other customers here besides me and they’re all paired up. Two of them are obviously a couple since they came in hand in hand. I can’t tell you what they look like because one, I’m not good at describing people’s physical appearances; and two, they’re sitting behind me which means I won’t be able to look at them without making myself look like a creepy stalker person. With the other two, I’m not so sure. I have a feeling they’re one of those married couples who have been together for so long but still see each other as strangers. That would be sad. Then again, they might just be friends. Or lovers. Or friends with benefits. I don’t really know. What I do know is that it’s none of my business so I’ll move on to other things now. 

The restaurant is in the second floor of a five-story building with huge glass windows and I’m seated right next to a table that’s right by one so I can see what’s happening on the street below. To be honest, it’s pretty boring, just cars and people. 

Wait. No, it’s not. My sister, Karen, and I used to play this game when we hung out in the mall. We’d sit down and make up stories about the people that were walking by. One time, I was looking for someone to create a story about when my eyes fell upon this man who looked so unhappy. I think that’s when I realized that the people I see everyday aren’t just people. They’re stories – and they aren’t made up ones. So no, they’re not boring. They’re just unknown. 

Oh you have got to see the sky right now. When I started earlier, the sky was still the usual pale blue. Now it’s a darker shade of blue with thick streaks of violet, coral, red and orange. It’s not breathtaking. It’s not anything special or unusual. I see this almost everyday but I never get tired of this image. It’s the simple kind of beautiful. It’s not the kind that takes your breath away – it’s the kind that makes you breathe. Does that make any sense? There’s something about seeing things like this that makes me think of God. And after a long day of work without once having thought of Him, it’s kind of refreshing to remember Him now. 

Can you sigh on paper? I just let out a sigh and I feel I should write it down because it says a lot about what I’m feeling right now. I treasure moments like this. I’m not sure why, but it’s in these times when I’m pretty confident that I’m doing this whole Life thing right.

Leave a Reply

