Balls: The biggest laugh I’ve ever had with my mom and sisters

The other day, I had a girls’ day out with my mom and sisters to the mall. We ended up going to this cafe for desserts. I ordered a mango crepe which turned out to be two big scoops of vanilla ice cream wrapped in crepe with a few slices of mango on the side. And then this happened.

My sister, Karen, took one look at my food and said, “Your food looks like two very big boobs.”

We laughed because, well yeah, it did look like boobs and yeah, I was about to eat something that was just described as looking like boobs. Then my ever adorable twin sister, Kathlyn, who I love oh so very much, decided to make a comment (jokingly, of course) about the impropriety of discussing boobs in front of food.

I swear she straightened her back and tilted her chin up a bit as she looked at Karen and said, “You and your dirty thoughts! I just think of it as two big balls.” She was joking about my sister having dirty thoughts. She was dead serious about the two big balls.

Silence. We waited for her to process what she’d just said.

And then, laughter. Lots of it. The really loud  and probably annoying kind. I think there were some snorting involved. Definitely had everyone in there staring at us. We were too busy laughing to care.

Honest to God, I wish we were in the middle of drinking water or something when that happened, just so we could have that epic funny moment every TV sitcom has.

Really though, I find it so incredibly amusing that, being in what most people would call a religious family, my sisters and I shared this big laugh with my mother – the woman who told us we weren’t allowed to have a boyfriend until we got a job and the woman who made us switch the channel whenever a kissing scene came up – all because of an entirely innocent comment about balls.

photo (1)BALLS!

4 thoughts on “Balls: The biggest laugh I’ve ever had with my mom and sisters

  1. projectechoshadow July 22, 2013 / 4:07 pm

    If it was an accident you can’t get in trouble must laugh, t’is law.

  2. Pamela Beckford July 22, 2013 / 4:58 pm

    Sounds like a moment 🙂

    No matter what you call it (them) though, it looks delicious. I love anything with mango

  3. Woman_on_Pause July 22, 2013 / 8:38 pm

    They look really yummy though. The entire dish looks divine. How was it?? I am not the biggest Mango fan.

    • Kathryn G July 23, 2013 / 3:36 pm

      It was pretty good. The mangoes were really sweet.

Leave a Reply

