A public apology to the scary woman from today

I thought I was right and you were wrong. Unfortunately for me, after telling my mom the story, she told me that I was the one at fault.

I’ve accepted it. But here’s what happened anyway just in case I might be right.

Earlier today, I was driving a fellow teacher to her house like I sometimes do whenever we end up being the last two people at work. I always make a U-turn just a little passed her apartment building so that she wouldn’t have to cross the street. And just like always, I flashed the turning left signal a good eight to ten seconds before I actually turned. I looked at my rear view mirror to see if a car was right behind me and I saw a pair of headlights pretty far away. Assuming it was safe, I went a little toward the right then proceeded to make one full turn when the car, that was in the far distance just a second ago, suddenly came to a screeching and not to mention honking stop just a few inches from the hood of my car.

There was a rolling down of the window of the other car’s passenger seat. There was a very furious woman on that seat who proceeded to shoot a menacing glare accompanied by even more menacing words and hand gestures at me. And there was a blank face with a defensive conscience that is me.

I put the car in reverse, let the scary woman and her unknown partner drive ahead, proceeded with the U-turn to let my friend hop off, then drove home. Not before long, annoyance took over what initially was nerves and fear. I didn’t think I was wrong and my friend didn’t think I was wrong (although maybe it was because of the fact that she was in my car being driven to her house) so naturally I felt I didn’t deserve any of the crap the woman gave me.

According to my mom though, I should have let the other car pass first even if it was still far away because the road was a downhill slope. And I guess as much as it was a scary experience for me, it was an equally scary experience for her too. I guess she reacts angrily to fear as opposed to me who reacts like a deer caught in the headlights.

So to the unpleasant passenger-seated woman who yelled nasty things at me, I’m sorry. I’m giving you this public apology because one, I’m sure you won’t be able to read this (it doesn’t mean I won’t apologize to you if ever I do see you in person- I was raised to do so, so I probably will) and two, I have a feeling you’re the type of person who would want one.

Really though, I apologize… Although I must say, the whole thing might have been avoided if your driver was driving within the speed limit. But that’s just me.

Once again, I am genuinely sorry. But you’re still not nice. But I’m sorry.

4 thoughts on “A public apology to the scary woman from today

  1. caroline September 28, 2013 / 12:34 am

    Yeah your mom is right that had she crashed in to you it would have been your fault but the way I see it is that if she’s not blind then she would have seen you (downward slope you said) and she could have slowed down…..sooooo really those angry words, not fair! I say, sit back, put your feet up and have a great weekend!

    • Kathryn G September 29, 2013 / 3:42 pm

      Thank you! I did have a great weekend. Hope you had one as well.

  2. vikkilynnsmith October 1, 2013 / 8:29 pm

    Just another end to a perfect teaching day…just a little sarcasm there. Glad you were not a hood ornament on her car!

    • Kathryn G October 6, 2013 / 4:35 pm

      Thanks! Being a hood ornament on that woman’s car would be an awful way to go.

Leave a Reply

