I’ve fallen in love with words on paper: David Levithan’s Every Day

Unlike the other books I’ve written about, it’s only just the words I’ve fallen in love with. Not the story, not the characters. I might even go so far as to say that I disliked the characters with a passion. I think my problem with it is that it tries to present itself as a story about this true and once-in-a-lifetime kind of love (which it is for some people) when, to me, it really is more of just a careless, bordering on infatuated, kind of love.

Every Day tells the story of A, a being who wakes up in a different body every day. A’s gender depends on the body he ends up being in. While in the body of a male high school student, A falls in love with the guy’s unappreciated girlfriend, Rhiannon. From there on out, driven by “true love”, A spends his days finding ways to come back to her without taking any consideration of the body he is in nor the kind of life the owner of that body has. In the end, he faces the choice to either continue on with their unconventional liaison or make the ultimate sacrifice and leave her in order to give her a better (meaning normal) life.

There are things about the story I can’t let off – like how a person can meet someone for the first time, fall crazy in love with her right away and then proceed to stalk her endlessly, or even how A takes it upon himself to choose the second best guy (because obviously, he’s the first) for Rhiannon to move on to.

But regardless of what I feel about the characters and the plot, I can’t deny the fact that this book has tons of beautiful lines. Here are the ones that stood out to me.

After a while, you have to be at peace with the fact that you simply are. (p.2)

We all contain mysteries, especially when seen from the inside. (p.3)

And being best friends is always about the benefit of the doubt. (p.33)

Kindness connects to who you are, while niceness connects to how you want to be seen. (p.56)

People take love’s continuity for granted, just as they take their body’s continuity for granted. They don’t realized that the best thing about love is its regular presence. (p.58)

I am a firm believer that every person, young or old, has at least one good story to tell. (p.68)

The sound of words as they’re said is always different from the sound they make when they’re heard. (p.71)

“And I know that, deep down, I mean the world to him.”
“Deep down? That sounds like settling to me. You shouldn’t have to venture deep down in order to get to love.” (p.72)

This is what love does: It makes you want to rewrite the world. (p.175)

I’ve known this for a while, but you can know something for years without it really hitting you. (p.268)

I wanted loved to conquer all. But love can’t conquer anything. It can’t do anything on its own. It relies on us to do the conquering on its behalf. (p.281)

If you stare at the center of the universe, there is a coldness there. A blankness. Ultimately, the universe doesn’t care about us. Time doesn’t care about us. That’s why we have to care about each other. (p.320)

Beautiful, right? Especially that last one.

Overall, I am in no way saying the book is bad. How can a book with such quotes be bad? The story just isn’t for me. A lot of my friends love the book. A lot of them admire the love I seem to cannot see between A and Rhiannon. Their love just isn’t my kind of love, I guess.

Leave a Reply

