Film to Watch…?: The Fault In Our Stars

Don’t get me wrong, I love this John Green novel, so much so that it was the first book I wrote a post about. It’s actually the most viewed post in this blog so I think there’s a lot of people out there who share my love for the book. I’m also sure there’s a lot who either jumped up and down a thousand times or smiled like a fool and felt like exploding into tiny bubbles (I did both) when a film adaptation was announced.

Having said that, I really hope the same people wouldn’t kill me for saying this but when I saw the trailer for the movie, I thought… well, I didn’t know what to think. I wanted to love it. I wanted to jump un and down a thousand times after seeing the trailer. I wanted to smile like a fool because I feel like exploding into tiny bubbles. I wanted to have the same reaction I see on my Twitter and Facebook feed. But that isn’t really the case. I’m not saying I hate it, I just didn’t love it. When I saw the trailer, I just kind of like squinted my eyes and nodded a bit.

I didn’t not love it because of the actors playing the characters or other silly matters. I think it’s a case of wanting something so bad and then when you get it, you realize it’s not tantamount to how badly you wanted it. When some of my favorite lines were said, instead of it being magical complete with goosebumps and the usual heart-skipping, it fell a bit flat to me.

I’ve always had this notion that there are words that are best written than said, best read than heard – I think the little treasures that John Green wrote so brilliantly in The Fault In Our Stars are some of them.

3 thoughts on “Film to Watch…?: The Fault In Our Stars

  1. Natasha August 3, 2014 / 9:14 pm

    I thought I was the only one! i completely agree with you. I absolutely love the book, but the movie, however, didn’t impress me as much. dont get me wrong- it was a good movie, people that havent read the book will enjoy it thoroughly, however, the ones who have read the book, will find it a little, if not very, disappointing. 😦

    • Kathryn G August 6, 2014 / 5:14 pm

      I haven’t watched it yet, but I’ve long ago accepted that film adaptations of books won’t always be the way I’d imagine it would be. It’s always hard to compare someone else’s imagination and interpretation with my own.

Leave a Reply

