I wrote a letter to Markus Zusak. Markus Zusak mailed me this.

I wrote a letter to Markus Zusak. Markus Zusak mailed me this.

Late last year, I decided to write to my favorite author and tell him how grateful I am for the book he wrote. The Book Thief made me fall in love with words. It made me realize how words in itself may seem elementary but when put together can be so moving and extraordinary. The Book Thief triggered in me the desire to put words together, to write something that could touch a heart, move a soul. To put it simply, this blog wouldn’t exist right now had I not read Markus Zusak’s masterpiece.

Today, I received this in the mail. From Markus Zusak. A brand new edition of The Book Thief with a short note inside. Written and signed by Markus Zusak himself.

I honestly never thought that writing a letter would lead to this. I feel like I’ve won the lottery. I feel like I’m about to burst into a million tiny bubbles of joy.

If you ever read this, thank you, Mr. Zusak. Truly.

9 thoughts on “I wrote a letter to Markus Zusak. Markus Zusak mailed me this.

  1. amarllyis March 12, 2014 / 4:53 am

    That is superb!! 😀

  2. Rebecca Burtram April 21, 2015 / 4:59 pm

    I found your post because I googled, “letters to Markus Zusak.” I just finished introducing my students to his beautiful work, and they all want to share how much his work has meant to them. Words bring people’s stories together.

    • Kathryn G April 23, 2015 / 7:44 am

      I agree with you wholeheartedly. I read The Book Thief at least once a year and I still find it as beautiful as the first time I read it, if not more.

  3. thetravellingphotographergirl August 19, 2016 / 5:41 am

    Yas! I LOVE Markus Zusak’s book The Book Thief. Its the best book I have ever read in my whole entire life!!!!!!!!!!! Lucky you!

    • Kathryn G February 1, 2017 / 3:30 pm

      Yes. It is the best book I’ve ever read in my life too! 🙂

  4. Becca January 11, 2017 / 11:01 pm

    How did you find his contact information? I’ve been looking everywhere so I can write him a letter, and I can’t seem to find it! It’s killing me!

    • Kathryn G February 1, 2017 / 3:30 pm

      Sorry for the late response! I honestly can’t remember where I found it, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t look hard. It’s not on his website? I mailed it to his PO Box.

Leave a Reply

