A list of truths we ought to learn in our twenties: Introduction

“Your twenties will be the best years of your life.”

If I had a dollar for every time I’ve been told that, I’d have an extra grand in my savings account (because that’s what I would do – save it!). Honestly, I wish people would stop saying that, not because I disagree with the statement – although I feel that the best years of my life shouldn’t just be limited to my twenties – but because all the hype it brings kind of messes with my mind.

During the past few months, I’d have these bouts of unexplained restlessness and unhappiness. I began to fill my head with exaggerated daydreams just to get through the hours, only to realize at the end of the day that I felt worse because of those daydreams – because those daydreams are still just daydreams. But then I’d do the same thing all over again the next day because impending sadness always seemed more bearable to me than ongoing lethargy.

I was going through life with that mantra – my twenties being the best years of my life – hanging over my soul until I reached a point where my soul couldn’t bear the weight of it any longer.

Deep down, I knew all along I was running on low fuel. I guess I was just too stubborn to deal with it until I reached empty. The good thing, though, about reaching empty is that I had no other choice but to get my lazy ass up and do something about it.

And so I did. After days and weeks filled with afternoons of deep reflection and evenings of honest-to-God prayers, I realized how I was going at my twenties all misguided by my own preconceived notions.

Little by little, with help from a tear or two, my vision began to clear. And right in front of me was a bunch of truths I desperately needed to learn. So I learned. But every now and then, I tend to forget them and I’d have to learn it all over again, so I’ve listed them all down (I really did, in my notebook). And I thought it would be nice to share the list with you because maybe you might be able to relate to it or, better yet, you might be able to add something to it. But that’s for another time – soon.

For now, I leave you with one simple truth that basically sums up the entire list: Our twenties can be the best years of our life, but it can also we our worst. It kind of depends on us.

4 thoughts on “A list of truths we ought to learn in our twenties: Introduction

  1. brokenrd88 July 8, 2014 / 10:53 pm

    So true. I’ve just had a serious wake up call and now I’m trying to take charge and make my life what I want it to be, and not what I’m told it should be.

  2. rossmurray1 July 9, 2014 / 3:40 pm

    The best years of your life are all of them.

    • Kathryn G July 11, 2014 / 9:00 am

      Exactly. That sums it up best.

Leave a Reply

