Of music and breathing

I must confess. These past few months I have been struggling with the ever-changing frame of mind I constantly find myself in. Some days, I feel one thing, and then on others, I feel completely different. Then there are days when I feel such a conflict of emotions that I stare at the ceiling or at the wall and I just have to take deep breaths.

I’m not sure exactly when it all started, but I do know what triggered it. But that’s a post for another time.

Right now, I just want to share a few songs. The last time I wrote a similar post, my mood was a lot happier than how it is now. But the gist is the same.

Music keeps me going.

There’s only a few things in this world that can put back the gleam in my eyes, and music is one of them. When I strangle myself with life’s worries and the pressure to meet the world’s insurmountable standards, music helps me breathe.

Maybe some of these songs can help you breathe too.

I fall in love with this song every single time I listen to it. It reminds me that no matter how many times I fail or get lost or feel like crap, I always have a home to return to. And, I guess, in a world where loneliness and detachment are all too common, being reminded that you belong somewhere is always a blessing. I listen to this and I breathe a little better because I know I’m alright, and I’m alright because I’m not alone.

This isn’t my favorite version of the song; I like the version on their album better. But anyway, OneRepublic has always been my favorite band and it’s because of songs like this that make them my favorite band. I played this song on the morning of my graduation day, on the night I resigned from my first job and basically every time I’d feel like letting the entire day pass me by. This song doesn’t just help me breathe easier, it picks me up and pushes me to keep going.

I’ve been single for about three years now, and I’m always being told by so many people that I should start going out and looking for a guy. And to be honest, there have been days when I’d feel lonely or insecure. But for the most part, I’m alright. I am firmly holding on to my belief that the greatest love stories don’t begin with me going out and looking for someone to have that with. I really do think great love stories just unfold on their own. And listening to this song reinforces that. It also warms my heart because I know that someday I’ll be having a love story that will be worth writing a song about.

Every time I go through bouts of fear and uncertainty, I always feel so incredibly small in terms of my faith. I forget that God is bigger than me, that when compared to Him, my fears and uncertainties are absolutely petty and insignificant. This song reminds me of that. It reminds me to pause and allow God to take the weight off my chest. Because, really, He’s the only one who can.

This is the live and shortened version of the song, and the only available copy of the song on the band’s YouTube. Again, the one in the album is much better. Whenever I play this song, I close my eyes and imagine God, my family and my friends singing this to me. And it lifts me up. Because I know that amid the pressure of accomplishing the goals I set for myself and the fear of not being able to do it, I am loved by some extraordinary people.
That’s it. Some of the songs that help me breathe. Do you have any songs that help you breathe?

4 thoughts on “Of music and breathing

  1. rossmurray1 October 11, 2014 / 4:44 pm

    Yesterday, Ai was feeling especially anxious. Van Morrison’s “Into the Mystic” calmed things down.
    I’m currently re-reading A
    room With a View by E.M Forster, about a girl struggling with her emotions. It’s wise and much funnier than Ai remember. Recommended.

    • Kathryn G October 17, 2014 / 3:40 pm

      I got home from a long day at work last night and I listened to this song – such a nice way to end my day. And I will definitely check out that book. Thanks so much!

  2. Flora Pan October 12, 2014 / 1:28 am

    It’s so weird that even though we have perfectly functional lungs, there are days we find difficult to breathe. There’s a video I always watch when I’m feeling down in the dumps and I wrote about it in a past post: http://epiloguewriter.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/nothing-but-stardust/

    I also love this song by an indie rock band from South Korea called Counting Pulses: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOFrojggK30 This song really helped me cope during a difficult time.

  3. djdfr October 12, 2014 / 8:36 am

    If by going out looking to meet a guy, people mean bars, then I’m with you—not a good idea. However, going out to be active is another set of circumstances where, as you say, it can unfold.

Leave a Reply

