One step to adulthood: 7 a.m. breakfast on a Saturday morning

I’ve been alive for 24 years now and I’ve never, not even once, voluntarily gone out for an early breakfast on a weekend.The only times I’ve ever gone out for breakfast were with family (which basically means I didn’t have a choice in the matter). I’m the kind of person who prefers to spend more time in bed than to eat an early breakfast no matter how good the food is. I usually get out of bed around nine or ten in the morning and just have brunch instead.

That all changed today.

Today’s my first time to actually decide to wake up earlier than I do on a working day and eat out for breakfast. And it felt so good. I feel so childish for saying this but I really did feel like a grown-up.

I also tried eggs Benedict for the first time in my entire life. I’ve always wanted to try it but the bacon and eggs, and pancakes and waffles were always too tempting to pass up so I’d always end up getting one of those instead. But since today’s breakfast was special, I wanted to get something special as well, hence the eggs Benedict.

And now as I sit in my room, wearing my comfy sweatpants and a shirt that’s too big for me, I don’t feel bad at all. Having my first eggs Benedict on my first early Saturday breakfast has made me feel like I accomplished so much in a span of two hours that’s enough to last me the entire day.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

