Lost: dog. Found: jerks.

We found a dog yesterday outside the school premises. He was obviously loved by its owners because it looked well-groomed and healthy. But after asking the people nearby if the dog was theirs and everyone answered in the negative, we took him in. We named him Mocha because of the color of its fur and because we like mocha.

After talking about it among ourselves, we decided not to put posters of Mocha in the streets. He didn’t have a collar, name tag or anything so it was very possible for anyone to claim ownership and we’d be left with the choice of either believing them or not.

And today I had to make that choice.

Earlier this morning, two men came to the school saying they heard a dog barking. One of the men said he just lost his dog and thought that maybe it was his. I like to think I’m not the type of person who would judge people on their looks, but for some reason these two men seemed very sketchy to me.

And they proved me right when they said they lost the dog late last night. We found Mocha at eight in the morning. When the man claiming to be Mocha’s owner got the sense that they answered wrong, he immediately changed his answer to noon. I asked him what time exactly and, after some hesitation, he said 12.

They didn’t get the dog.

But now I am so pissed off. One of my co-teachers told me she talked about the situation to someone yesterday so I figured either of these men overheard it. And I just can’t believe how a human being could hear something like that and say, “Looks like I’m stealing a dog today. Lucky me!”

If those two men show their faces again, they won’t be seeing Mocha that’s for sure. They’ll come face to face with Thor, my family’s German Shepherd.

3 thoughts on “Lost: dog. Found: jerks.

  1. vyvacious May 19, 2015 / 12:28 am

    Some people are just awful!! So glad Mocha has you in his life now.

    • Kathryn G May 19, 2015 / 3:09 am

      Not quite. We found the owner the following day. It’s sad but I could tell he really loved his dog. And the dog’s name turned out to be Peanut!

      • vyvacious May 19, 2015 / 7:41 pm

        Aww well that is great that they were reunited and that you kept him safe until then. Haha I love that the dog’s name was a food item in both instances though šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

