Crying over a stained shirt

This isn’t a new take on the saying “crying over spilled milk” or anything, although I must admit they both mean the same thing which basically goes something like: “Suck it up and cry over something that is actually worth crying over, you cry baby.”

But yes, I literally did cry over a stained shirt.

I am not ashamed.

It was my favorite shirt.

You must first understand though that I don’t usually cry over the destruction (because, really, that’s what an irremovable stain on a favorite shirt is) of my favorite things, with the exception of books because books are awesome and, according to Stephen King, are a uniquely portable magic and who doesn’t cry over losing one’s uniquely portable magic?

Granted, my favorite shirt couldn’t possibly be considered a uniquely portable magic, but these past few weeks have been either really good or really bad for me. My thesis is due in a week so I’m going on an academic overdrive but it’s hard to do things properly when you’re coughing so much that your stomach and head start to hurt.

Of course, I’m thankful it wasn’t all really bad but I’ve gotta say it’s kind of messing with my emotions, to the point where, upon seeing my favorite shirt stained, I locked myself in the bathroom and cried and cried. And cried.

It wasn’t one of my finest moments to be sure. But, you know, we all need a good cry every now and then… even if it’s because of something really petty.

13 thoughts on “Crying over a stained shirt

  1. rossmurray1 January 17, 2013 / 1:40 pm

    Probably good that whatever was pent up came out. Hang in there.

    • Kathryn G January 17, 2013 / 1:55 pm

      Yes, definitely. Thank you so much!

  2. Mnemosyne January 17, 2013 / 2:46 pm

    Aw that sucks. I don’t think I’ve ever cried over a stained shirt, but I’ve cried over some petty things. Or at the end of a good movie, but that wasn’t the trigger of the waterworks. My poor boyfriend, that’s all I have to say lol
    Don’t worry, you’ll find yourself a new favorite 🙂

    • Kathryn G January 17, 2013 / 3:16 pm

      Oh, I’ve cried many times at the end of a good movie, usually when a character I love dies. Have you watched Les Miserables? I cried at the end of that one.

      Yes, I hope it won’t be as expensive as my previous one.

      • Mnemosyne January 17, 2013 / 5:21 pm

        Yes, an expensive article of clothing is definitely something to cry about. No, I haven’t watched Les Misérables, yes. But it’s on my T-Be-Watched-Alone list :p

  3. Ok So Far January 17, 2013 / 3:35 pm

    A good long cry can be very therapeutic! And from what you say, sounds like you needed one! I hope you find a new favorite shirt soon.

    • Kathryn G January 18, 2013 / 9:43 am

      Yes. It really was. I think it helped me get over it pretty quickly. Thank you!

  4. caroline1t January 17, 2013 / 4:38 pm

    It’s okay you can cry over a stained shirt! I’ve cried over ruined clothing before!

    • Kathryn G January 18, 2013 / 9:44 am

      I’m pretty sure that was my first time. Good to know I’m not alone!

  5. littlemscurious January 17, 2013 / 5:09 pm

    I totally understand what you mean. sometimes I cry over things that are not even worth crying for but in the end it makes me feel better and I am able to concentrate on what’s really important again.

    and good luck with your thesis. I’ve been through that already, so I feel for you, but I’m sure you’ll be fine 🙂

    • Kathryn G January 18, 2013 / 9:48 am

      Oh, definitely. It’s kind of funny actually. I cried for awhile then I laughed at myself for crying over a shirt. Something’s wrong with me.

      Thanks so much! Just one more week to go and I’ll be freeeeeeeee.

  6. Taylor Devost January 22, 2013 / 5:32 pm

    This made me laugh and it is totally relatable! Such a human moment that we have all had before. I know, I have had them more than once! I once cried because my parents went out to dinner and forgot to bring me my food back (they promised the would). Then I felt bad for making them feel bad and started crying even more!!

    • Kathryn G January 23, 2013 / 1:09 am

      That’s hilarious! Although I’m sure it wasn’t when it was happening. I do hope you had something to eat that night though. You should’ve at least cried with a full stomach.

Leave a comment